Sign in to follow this  
americangothic

Why does NFR! sound not as 'loud' as her previous records?

I'm not an audio expert, but I've had noticed something about the mixing/mastering of the volume of 'Norman Fucking Rockwell!' (the album). For some reason, the volume sounds 'quieter' and 'lower' when comparing it to Born to Die or Ultraviolence. Hell, even Honeymoon, being a chiller and low-scale record sounds louder. I've bought the record on Itunes as well as the physical version to make sure it wasn't my headphones, radio or even my ears (lol).

Does anyone think similarly? Is it just me? Do anyone know how or where can I find a 'louder' version of the album? The other day I asked the same question on Reddit and the only answers I got where 'turn up the volume' lol.

well, there was a thing called a loudness war, maybe this will help?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

Thanks for the quick reply! 

Actually, I tried once to increase/upscale the loudness with Audacity and it was a mess, hahaha. But then again, I have literally no knowledge on the topic jj

Thanks for the quick reply! 

Actually, I tried once to increase/upscale the loudness with Audacity and it was a mess, hahaha. But then again, I have literally no knowledge on the topic jj

i have limited knowledge, maybe @@PARADIXO would know more?

negAbhB.png

But for real, I'm by no means a sound engineer. I think I'm just an audiophile.