Sign in to follow this  
yourolllikethunder

Essays About Lana Written by LB Members

[Sharing my ode to Lana from my substack] Some of you know because last year I didn’t shadddup about it, but I’m an indie musician & poet and I launched a free substack a few weeks ago, following a very long depressive episode, to discuss music, film, art, culture, etc. and help pull me out of it. Today I wrote a post on Lana and thought I’d share it with anyone who might enjoy reading it:

the visceral, sprawling, and singular world of lana del rey.

A reflection on my deep admiration for her work, and hope that she finally gets her Grammy.

If you are a Lana Del Rey fan like me, you’ve probably noticed a slew of new content from her—interviews with Harper’s Bazaar and The Sunday Times, an appearance on NBC’s ‘Christmas at Graceland’ special, and a release of a cover song, “Take Me Home, Country Roads.” You may also know that, despite receiving mass public attention over the years and recent, long-deserved critical acclaim—not to mention being the 10th most-streamed artist in the world this year—she has never received a Grammy. I hope that this next round of the awards ceremony, in early 2024, will be the point where that changes for her.

“Each listen imprints on your mind like a ray of late-afternoon sun blazing through the cracked windows of an abandoned mansion—right onto a dust-flecked mirrorball, slowly spinning as roses bloom outside ivied walls, despite decades of decay.”