Sign in to follow this  
annedauphine

Essay on Lana fandom and religion

Hi everyone, as I presented myself in the Welcome section, I'm a fine arts student. As part of one of my second year units on fans and amateurs experts, I had to write an essay on fandoms. Being a Lana stan and being fascinated by religion, I decided to do it on how the Lana Del Rey fandom can bring criticism on the relationship between fandom and religion. I immensely enjoyed writing it and I really want to explore it much further. It's called "Kissing God - Lana Del Rey is my religion". 

Please keep in mind that:
_ I only got B+ for it because I only cite pop culture sources
_ I was immensely depressed and suicidal during the whole time I wrote it
_ English is not my first language and I'm not a particularly good writer
_ I was still a pretty basic Lana stan when I started to write it.

I hope you'll like it :) Feedback would be much appreciated!

PS this is what my tutor said about it, it adds some insight.

"This is a well structured, thought-provoking and insightful essay on the relationship between fandom and religion focusing on contemporary pop star Lana Del Rey. 

You usefully introduce the etymology of the term "fan" in order to substantiate your focus on it's relation to religion, and go on to make useful parallels between the two with relevant and some times intriguing examples. In particular your example of a moment when Del Rey breaks down in a concert in Ireland and questions her role as an icon, claiming that fans might believe in her more than she believes in herself is interesting. I wonder whether this was an authentic and sincere questioning by Del Rey, or whether this too was part of her act? I'd like to "believe" in the former!